This Day In Rock History: Iggy and The Stooges Release “Raw Power”

May 6th, 1973

Iggy Pop and the Stooges release ‘Raw Power’ which peaks at #52 on the Billboard Pop Albums chart.

“Forerunner of punk rock, post-punk rock, noise rock and heavy metal and widely regarded as one of the greatest rock albums of all time.”

YouTube player

Song List:

01. Search and Destroy
02. Gimme Danger
03. Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell
04. Penetration
05. Raw Power
06. I Need Somebody
07. Shake Appeal
08. Death Trip


The Stooges
Iggy Pop – vocals, production and mixing for 1997 reissue
James Williamson – guitar
Ron Asheton – bass guitar, backing vocals
Scott Asheton – drums


About author View all posts Author website


Exiled New Englander now living in Canada. I dream in Spanish but can't speak it. I wish I'd grown up as an old black man playin' the blues just like my father.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.