New Music Blast: THE MEMBRANES – Three Tracks From the Forthcoming Album ‘What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away’

Over 40 years after forming in 1978, Blackpool/Manchester post-punk legends The Membranes are set to release their 8th studio album.

The 16-track double album ‘What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away‘ is about the beauty and violence of nature.

This is the pinnacle of our long and strange journey. This album is steeped in the powerful forces of nature and an underlying emotional undertow that is dark and brooding bass driven postpunk with the epic swirl of the choir and a diversity of sounds that takes you on a trip. I put my life into this album musically, lyrically and emotionally,” says vocalist/bassist John Robb.

The band reformed in 2010 at the insistence of My Bloody Valentine and this is their second album since. It features appearances from vocalist Kirk Brandon (Theatre of Hate, Spear of Destiny) and 84-year-old folk singer Shirley Collins. If these three tracks are any indication, this album will find itself atop many Best of 2019 lists.

What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away‘ will be released June 7 and is available for Pre-order from Cherry Red Records here!

John Robb – vocals and bass
Peter Byrchmore – guitar
Rob Haynes – drums
Nick Brown – guitar


YouTube player


YouTube player



About author View all posts


One foot in the door
The other one in the gutter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.