Marshall Crenshaw “#392: The Ep Collection”

This is a compilation of 6 vinyl EPs that Crenshaw released from 2012 to this year. Its a good equal mix of originals and cover tunes starting with “Grab the Next Train,” it shows Marshall still has a knack for memorable melody, with lyrics by friend Dan Bern. “Red Wine” is another gem with its jazzy guitar and accordion breaks. Then the smart composition “I Don’t See You Laughing Now,” is about a poetic comeuppance.

All the originals are all solid, where the covers are more of a mixed bag. Starting with The Move’s “No Time” penned by Jeff Lynne is an very inspired choice, less so is a competent but pedestrian version of “Close To You.” My favorites here is Bobby Fuller’s “Never To Be Forgotten” and overall this collection makes for some pleasant listening.



This review originally posted on Power Popaholic

About author View all posts Author website

Power Popaholic

The Power Popaholic (aka Aaron Kupferberg) writes about Power Pop Music and melodic rock for the review site Powerpopaholic.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.