Let’s Punk Up Them Blues….R. L. BURNSIDE – A Pocket Ass of Whiskey (Full Album)


Although he had been playing for years, it wasn’t until the 1990s that R.L. Burnside‘s raw electrified Delta blues were heard by a wide audience. His new fans celebrated his wild, unbridled energy, so it made sense for him to team with the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, the warped indie rock band that’s all about energy. However, the very purists who celebrate Burnside hate Spencer, believing that the latter mocks the blues. As the blistering Ass Pocket of Whiskey proves, Spencer may not treat the blues with reverence, but he and his band capture the wild essence of juke-joint blues. And that makes them the perfect match for Burnside, who knows his history but isn’t burdened by it. Together, Burnside and the Blues Explosion make raw, scintillating, unvarnished blues that positively burns. (AllMusic)

All songs by Burnside, Spencer, Bauer, Simmins except where otherwise noted

  1. “Goin’ Down South”
  2. “Boogie Chillen” (John Lee Hooker)
  3. “Poor Boy”
  4. “2 Brothers”
  5. “Snake Drive”
  6. Shake ‘Em on Down(Fred McDowell, arr: Burnside/Spencer/Bauer/Simmins)
  7. “Criminal Inside Me”
  8. “Walkin’ Blues” (Robert Johnson, arr: Burnside/Spencer/Bauer/Simmins)
  9. “Tojo Told Hitler”
  10. “Have You Ever Been Lonely (Have You Ever Been Blue)”

About author View all posts Author website


From Pittsburgh, now in Florida, Cool Canadian artist wife , 4 great kids and two granddaughters!! I'm a lucky guy!

Post a Comment