Legends of Detroit…Nikki Corvette (Full Album )


Nikki Corvette is one of the unsung heroines of the birth of pop-punk and a trailblazing female rock artist, mixing girl group harmonies and pop hooks with no-nonsense rock & roll years before Blondie made such things commercially viable. Born and raised in Detroit (though her family also spent time in New York City, Las Vegas, and Los Angeles), Nikki developed a taste for Motor City rock & roll early on — the first concerts she attended included gigs by Iggy & the Stooges and the MC5, and she was on hand to witness the latter band’s final show. Nikki also became pals with the New York Dolls when they first played Detroit, and later joined them on the road (she claims David Johansen once helped her write a paper for her high-school English class). In 1977, with punk rock helping to eliminate the line between fans and musicians, Nikki formed the group Nikki Corvette & the Convertibles, with Nikki singing lead and Lori Jeri and Sally Dee harmonizing. The group released a single in 1978, “Young and Crazy” b/w “Backseat Love” and “Criminal Element,” and began playing regularly throughout the Midwest. In 1980, the group, now known as Nikki & the Corvettes, signed a deal with the legendary punk/power pop label Bomp Records, and released its self-titled album, with Peter James (onetime guitarist with the Romantics) leading the band backing the singers.(AllMusic)


1. He’s a Mover
2. You’re The One
3. C’mon
4. What I Need
5. Boys, Boys, Boys
6. Let’s Go
7. Shake It Up

About author View all posts


Co-founder of 50thirdand3rd, stepped away to spend time with family and write. From Pittsburgh, now in Florida, Cool Canadian artist wife, 4 great kids, and two granddaughters!! I'm a lucky guy!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.