Album of the Week, October 18… “Stupid Punk Boy” from Girlsville Records


Stupid Punk Boy is a benefit compilation for the Translife Center in Chicago. Released just yesterday.The Translife Center provides comprehensive programming and support to transgender individuals including health, housing, and legal support.

The title is a nod to 90’s Newcastle UK label Slampt and a song written by a band on the label called Golden Starlet, it’s also a nod to compilations like Elastic Jet Mission and diy benefit compilations like Fortune Cookie Prize. Great music for a Great cause.

The 23 track compilation is all exclusive material (with the exception of one bonus track by London’s Abjects on the 24 track physical release). The artwork was done by Sean Äaberg, the artist behind Pork Magazine, and it was mastered by Patrick Haight at Spot-On Sound. It includes tracks exclusive to the comp by Coachwhips, Dum Dum Girls, Candy Highway, Black Time, The Prissteens, The Black Tambourines, The Red Cords, The Teamsters, The Bristols, Virvon Varvon, Commiserations, Frankie & The Witch Fingers, The Ettes, Proto Idiot, Purple Wizard, Cosmic, Bruce & Carl, Abjects, The Hipshakes, and Mr Airplane Man

Girlsville, Facebook

About author View all posts Author website


I am a Nashville girl who loves any kind of music you can throw her way! If I can write about that experience, you will see my passion.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.