THE MAGNIFICENT 7! Seven Killer Tracks from 20 Years of PLACEBO…

British post punk trio PLACEBO will be heading out on a world tour
next October to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the release of
their self-titled debut album. The band promise a set list spanning
their whole back catalogue…


Frontman BRIAN MOLKO already teased: “Let’s just say there will be songs in the set that I’ve sworn never to play again. I think it’s time that we purposefully acknowledged what a lot of Placebo fans really want to hear. They’ve been very patient with us since we rarely play our most commercially successful material. A 20 year anniversary tour seems like the right time to do so. That’s our intention. This tour is very much for the fans and a chance for us to revisit a lot of our early material. So, if you want to see us play songs like ‘Pure Morning’ and ‘Nancy Boy’ which we haven’t played in almost ten years and may not play again, then you’d better come along to these shows! We’ll have some surprises in there too.”


Time for a Magnificent 7 selection. Hello, Brian, I’ll be at a couple of
the anniversary shows if you play the following seven killer tracks…

1/ NANCY BOY – on debut album (1996)

2/ BIONIC – on debut album (1996)

3/ PURE MORNING – on 2nd LP ‘Without You I’m Nothing’ (1998)

– on third album ‘Black Market Music’ (2000)

5/ ’20TH CENTURY BOY – T.Rex cover (they performed the song in the 1998
glam rock movie Velvet Goldmine and was released as 2nd track on double A-side single
‘You Don’t Care About Us’)

6/ FOR WHAT IT’S WORTH – on 6th longplayer ‘Battle For The Sun’ (2009)

7/ BURGER QUEEN – brill ballad on 2nd LP ‘Without You I’m Nothing’ (1998)


About author View all posts Author website


Belgium based -

Music Is The Dope -
Turn Up The Volume !

Post a Comment