LOWER DENS ! New Album ‘Escape From Evil’ In Full – Moody Pop Sparks…




Artist: Lower Dens (Baltimore, MD)
Who: Jana Hunter (singer/songwriter), Geoff Graham (bass), Nate Nelson (drums) and recent addition Walker Teret.
Album: ‘Escape From Evil’ – third long player after ‘Twin-Hand Movement’ (2010) and ‘Nootropics’ (2012)…
Release date: March 31, 2015 !
Jana Hunter on the new album: “I lost a person who had been part of my circle back in Houston, and another friend’s son had died. So writing the songs became a magical way of expressing for those people what it can be like to face that intensity of grief. I wanted to tackle love, death, recklessness, violence, fear, gender ambiguity and guilt. We are all nerds and it’s easy for us to be satisfied on an intellectual level, but we were thinking about how we were going to be spending a long time on the road with these songs, and we wanted to make them fun to play.”
My first impression: another side of Lower ‘Jana Hunter’ Dens – more synths, more pop, more passionate & intense vocals – varied moods – from melancholy to euphoria (see track-by-track with JH hereafter) – a dreamy pop record to explore to the bone…
Highlights: Sucker’s Shangri-La / Too Die In L.A. / I Am The Earth / Company

Track- by -Track with Jana Hunter
Coming tour dates

Moody Jana… (pic: Frank Hamilton)

Music, maestro, please…


About author View all posts Author website


Belgium based -

Music Is The Dope -
Turn Up The Volume !

Post a Comment