DEUX FURIEUSES – Exclusive Track By Track Guide To Their Debut Album TRACKS OF WIRE…

DEUX FURIEUSES are in-your-face hammering drummer VAS ANTONIADOU and fierce guitarist and incisive vocalist ROS CAIRNEY. A genuinely outspoken and committed female Glasgow/London post punk duo. They are determined to share their razor-sharp views on these troubled times, on a world where ruthless capitalism still rules and warfare is regarded by many political leaders around the globe as a legitimate high profit business. Ros and Vas do not preach, they protest. They do not look away, they question delicate issues. They care. Yes, that is what drives them… they care. They ventilate their rage about social injustices with crushing strokes – even when they slow down – performed with a monumental intensity and a 21st century punk thunder. Loud and proud. Noisy rebels with a trenchant cause. My kinda band. So it’s absolutely great to have Ros talking us through the 12 songs of debut album TRACKS OF WIRE. An unambiguous, honest and challenging powerhouse. A raw body of work to file next to your Savages albums and early PJ Harvey records…

Here are the tracks…

Here are the words…

1. Can We Talk About This?
Rob Ellis, our musical hero from PJ Harvey’s Dry and Rid of Me albums, was coming to our rehearsal and we didn’t have enough songs for the album recording so I had to write another one quick. I took lyrics I had been singing about the killing of film director Theo Van Gogh by Islāmic extremists over a slower riff I later used for Kill Us and put these words to a new faster rhythm. When I played the song to Vas at our rehearsal, she immediately started writing a great drum part making much more of the dynamics. I loved the way she played her rim shots percussively like the riff. The new rehearsal studio we had just moved to was still having work done and was being built around us so it was difficult to concentrate with the cacophony of drills and hammers in the background but by the end of the session we had it nailed. When we played it to Rob he leapt off his seat, picked up a drum stick and started joining in hitting hard cross rhythms on a cymbal while we were playing.”

2. Now You’re Gonna Listen
Vas felt some of the new songs needed to be about us and our struggle and said “Make sure you write one that says ‘Listen to us!’”. I went home, picked up the guitar, remembered what she had said and slammed into the chorus. Rob Ellis said this song was “An object lesson in what a two piece can achieve”.


3. Are We Sexy Enough?
“This song took months before I played it to Vas getting the words and the chord arrangement right. When I finally played it to her she got emotional and said the song didn’t need drums and I should record it by myself just guitar and vocals. We home demoed this song and gave a copy to Polly Harvey outside a Patty Smith gig. Mark Freegard did a brilliantly creative mix on this and then Nick Watson well and truly mastered it!”

4. Get Nowhere
Vas had loved the words “Get nowhere and you get nowhere and you get nowhere” which were from a song I hadn’t finished so I wrote the song around this. It is true in our experience.”

5. Dream for Change

“This is the most optimistic song on the album and was part inspired by Pussy Riot who argued their case so logically from their glass box when they were on trial. I played it to Vas and she responded with the shuffling snare part that starts and ends the song. We home demoed this one and we had a good feeling about it. She initially wanted it to sound ghostly but it got harder sounding as we recorded it. I love the way it sounds military and brooding. I have a great memory of singing the chorus backing vocal with Vas and Rob. For the video I filmed Vas on my phone as she slow marched around her home town in a hooded cloak with her drum playing this part. We got a lot of funny looks.”

6. Kill Us
Kill Us was initially inspired by a combination of Kathleen Hannah’s “Burn down the walls that say you can’t” from her Riot Grrrl manifesto, Vas shouting “they’re fighting with machine guns, we’re fighting with our hands” one night and the walls literally facing refugees. It also owes a little to Jimmy Page and Robert Plant on Immigrant Song. After the massacre at the Bataclan concert hall in Paris the song resonated even more strongly with us.”

7. The Party of Shaitaan
“The only song not produced by Rob Ellis, The Party of Shaitaan was recorded after the initial album session in Glasgow at Kyoti Studio where it was produced by Mark Freegard. The Party of Shaitan is from The Quran – “Shaitan has overtaken them and they have forgotten Allah. They are the party of Shaitan. Verily, it is the party of Shaitan that will be the losers.” It was influenced by Boko Haram who had taken 300 school girls (who are still mostly missing) and philosopher Hannah Arendt’s thoughts on Adolf Eichmann after watching him at the Nuremberg Trials. I was interested in the failure to think. After the recording we added another vocal of us shouting about ‘the banality of evil’ which we recorded in Vas’s kitchen and sent to Mark to use over Vas’s drum solo.”

8. Philistines
“I had a very bad period around the time I was ill and wrote this song about someone from social services who were trying to take me to court over benefit payments and imagined band earnings. Vas came up with a great song arrangement for this. The outro lyrics make us cry when we sing it live.”


9. Out of My System
“This is about a large rare cyst which was growing in my body. It is a 5/4 riff from hell. We recorded it late at night early on in the session and I remember Rob Ellis telling me to just let my voice go. I was hoarse the next day which was a bit worrying but all part of a ten-day residential session where you just have to keep going.”

10. I Want My Life Back
“This was written as I recovered from the operation and was inspired by the Arab Spring. It is about the failure and bitterness of that. The spoken outro was part of a tweet from a musician who died in Tahrir Square. The arrangement went through many permutations and home demoing in Vas’s attic before settling on the final version with its twists and turns.”

11. Time to Mourn
“This is for the refugees who so scare us and for whom we do so little. I was interested to write this from the perspective of a young man who didn’t want to leave his country. It is also inspired by my aunt Aine Carey who taught me guitar and talked to me about songwriting. She died while we were finishing the album. The poem Tracks of Wire on the CD label is for her.”

12. From Fear to Fury
“When I first played Time to Mourn to Vas she felt that the end of the song needed something more. The next time I was round at Vas’s house she played me a new section on her acoustic guitar which sounded tribal and Celtic and suggested it had wailing. I loved it and we went upstairs to her attic where we have drums and amps and she started to play this furious drum beat while I played the guitar. We recorded this track last at the end of our session as a stand alone track. We really enjoyed the freedom of adding anything we felt like. Rob played hub caps he had in his car. Mark did another great mix on this. When we mastered the album we joined the songs together. It is great to play it live as anything can happen. We wanted to capture the sad desperate wailing sound of the world we are living in. We called this piece of music From Fear to Fury to evoke not only the journey of refugees but our own life’s journey as females and musicians in a society that doesn’t value either.”

The album is out now! You can order it on iTunes or Bandcamp
The band play a launch show on the 5th June at The Lexington
in London. Details here



Website – Facebook – Twitter

About author View all posts Author website


Belgium based -

Music Is The Dope -
Turn Up The Volume !

Post a Comment